WPS Focal Points Network Events



Past Events

VIRTUAL MEETINGS 

  • 76th UNGA Side Event (Beyond 2020: Taking Leadership and Action to Realize the WPS Agenda)

As Co-Chairs of the WPS Focal Points Network in 2020 – 2021, Canada and Uruguay invite you to join this virtual side event during the 76th session of the United Nations General Assembly. This event will be an opportunity to reflect on the important role this Network plays in advancing the implementation of the WPS agenda, (including/as well as) the lessons learned, and best practices developed by Focal Points during these last two years. Ministerial and senior level interventions by Network Members are welcome. Uruguay and Canada will also welcome Switzerland and South Africa as the next co-chairs of the Network for 2022.

Thursday, September 16, 2021
08:30 – 11:00 (EDT/UTC-4, Ottawa & New York City)
09:30 – 11:30 (UTC-3, Montevideo, Uruguay)
13:30 – 15:30 (UTC+1, London, UK)
15:30 – 17:30 (UTC+3, Nairobi, Kenya)
20:30 – 22:30 (UTC+8, Beijing, China)
22:30 – 00:30 (UTC+10, Sydney, Australia, Sep 16 – 17)


Please register here to join the event.

Please contact the Secretariat by September 13, 2021 if a video or live intervention is planned.
wpsfocalpointsnetwork@unwomen.org

Interpretation will be available in Spanish, French, English and American Sign Language (ASL).

Concept Note: EN ES FR

  • Beyond 2020: Towards a Transformative Women, Peace and Security Agenda & Launch of new WPS Focal Points Network Website

15 July 2021| 8:30AM-11:30AM EDT 

Language: Spanish, French, English, American Sign Language 

This meeting is open to the public.

Hosted by Uruguay and Canada, this interactive WPS Focal Points Network event will include discussion on the following themes: 

  1. Addressing Discrimination and Racism in Peace and Security Systems and Structures 
  2. Strengthening WPS Connections Across Agendas and Regions 
  3. Inclusive Peacebuilding and Mediation 
  4. Indigenous Women’s Perspectives on Trust and Peacebuilding

A Case Study will be presented: Building trust through regional approaches to WPS – Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Concept Note: EN ES FR

  • Working Group Session on Impact-Driven National Action Plans 

7 December 2020 | 9:00am-11:00am EDT 

  • Building Peace: Taking Action to Support Women Peacebuilders 

9 September 2020 | 10:00am-12:00pm EDT 

  • High-Level Intergenerational Dialogue to mark the 20th anniversary of UN Security Council resolution 1325: Lessons for Leadership on Women, Peace and Security – Past, Present and Future 

15 July 2020 | 9:30am-11:00am EDT 

Summary EN ES FR 

  • Advancing the WPS Agenda in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic: Challenges and Opportunities 

13 May 2020 | 10:00am -11:30am EDT 

Summary

CAPITAL/REGIONAL MEETINGS 

  • Opportunities for the Women, Peace and Security Agenda in the Americas 

16-17 December 2019 | Montevideo, Uruguay  

Summary EN ES FR 

  • Third Annual Capital-level meeting 

10-11 April 2019 | Windhoek, Namibia 

Joint communiqué

  • Second Annual Capital-level Meeting

9-10 April 2010 | Berlin, Germany 

Joint communiqué

Read more

  • First Annual Capital-level Meeting 

26-27 April 2017 | Alicante, Spain 

Joint communiqué

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY SIDE EVENTS/NEW YORK MEETINGS 

  • Women, Peace and Security: Towards Full Participation  

25 September 2019 | UNGA 74

Read more

Official summary

  • The Road to 2020: Accelerating Action on Women, Peace and Security 

15 March 2019 | CSW 63 

Read more

  • The Security Council and Women, Peace and Security: Fostering Practical Action 

26 September 2018 | UNGA 73 

Read more

Official summary

  • New York Debriefing of the Berlin Meeting 

24 May 2018  

Official summary

  • Expert Group Meeting 

30 November 2017 

Official summary 

  • Women’s Participation in Peace and Security: conflict prevention and the security sector 

21 September 2017 | UNGA 72 

Official summary