This symbol combines the national flowers of both South Africa and Switzerland, co-chairs of the WPS Focal Points Network in 2022. The South-African Protea and the Swiss Edelweiss symbolize strength and diversity – values that inspire the co-chairship. The orange circle at their center, reminiscent of the WPS Focal Points Network logo, reflects continuity and unity in purpose. The color combination is further inspired by the flags of both South Africa and Switzerland.

Current Chairs

  • 2022 – South Africa 🇿🇦 and Switzerland 🇨🇭

Immediate Past Co-Chairs

  • 2020 / 2021 – Canada 🇨🇦 and Uruguay 🇺🇾

Canada and Uruguay are 2020-2021 co-chairs of the WPS Focal Points Network. Taking note of the unprecedented challenges posed by COVID-19, with its consequences for Network interaction and engagement, the Network Troika unanimously decided to exceptionally grant Canada and Uruguay an extension of their one-year co-chairship to two years.

Transfer of Co-chairship from Canada and Uruguay to Switzerland and South Africa for 2022

Past Chairs

  • 2019 – Namibia 🇳🇦
  • 2018 – Germany 🇩🇪
  • 2017 – Spain 🇪🇸

In any given year, the current, as well as the outgoing and incoming Chairs will constitute the Troika, which is responsible for providing guidance to the Network on operational and substantive issues. The current Troika comprises Canada and Uruguay (2021 Co-chairs), and Switzerland and South Africa (2022 Co-chairs).

UN Women serves as Secretariat of the Network and has assigned a Coordinator to manage the Secretariat.